Historic Church at Heart of ‘Battle of Winwick’ to Host Heritage Weekend

Posted on

This September 12-13, St. Oswald’s Church in Winwick will bring history to life in a special Heritage Open Weekend.

A church at Winwick was recorded in the Domesday Book in 1086, while parts of the present St Oswald’s date back to the 13th century.

The church has undergone numerous changes over the centuries, including the rebuilding of the chancel, sanctuary and vestry by renowned Victorian architect A.W.N. Pugin between 1847 and 1849.

Today, visitors can still see many reminders of the church’s long history, including the Legh Chapel, historic memorials and a remarkable Anglo-Saxon cross fragment dating from around AD750.

The church has a fascinating history, including its connection to Titanic captain Edward Smith, who married local farmer’s daughter Sarah Eleanor Pennington at St Oswald’s in 1887.

St Oswald’s also played a role in the Battle of Winwick during the English Civil War, when more than 1,000 men were imprisoned. The weekend will feature members of the Battle of Winwick Society in period costume, alongside talks exploring the battle and the people connected to the church.

The church is also known for the pig on the outside of its tower and the story behind its unusual connection to St Oswald’s.

Saturday, 12 September

10am – Doors open

11am – Heritage Open Weekend officially opened by Revd Martin Fuller

11.05am – Talk by Andrew Abram from the Battle of Winwick Society

2pm – Talk by Eileen Monies, a guide from Lyme Park, on the Legh family, held in the church hall

4pm – Close

Sunday, 13 September

12pm – Doors open

1pm – Guided walk across the Battle of Winwick battlefield site, led by the Battle of Winwick Society

3pm – Close

For more information, visit this link.